Housekeeper/ Personal Assistant looking for live-out or live-in position

Chatteris, Cambridgeshire
Posted
67 days ago

Description

Compassionate, accurate and detail-oriented Housekeeper/ Personal Assistant who takes initiative and has an innate drive to succeed. Highly motivated to expand knowledge and skills. Empathetic personality, with a strong work ethic and positive attitude. Looking for a live-in or live-out position.


I am looking for a position as a Housekeeper/ Personal Assistant. It could be either live-out or live-in (with weekends as my time off). Although I am no chef, I do enjoy cooking and trying out new recipes. I am very pet friendly, I have a full UK driving license, and drive my own car. I can either work as self-employed or be employed by you.

In the past I have worked as a history teacher, school secretary, librarian, but also as a live-in housekeeper, nanny and personal assistant. I consider myself a hardworking, capable and committed person who always gives 200% to every undertaken task. I have a ‘can do’ attitude and upbeat personality.
My years working as a teacher as well as my first years in the United Kingdom gave me the experience and skills needed to perform well under pressure. As I decided to continue my education I learnt to combine work and studies, to respect different cultures and faiths, to deal with people and their problems in open but at the same time decisive manner. Working with young people taught me to see others potential and help them reach it. Working in jobs not connected with teaching, such as housekeeping or taking care of elderly people taught me flexibility and adaptability. Working for years as a housekeeper taught me how to keep every place tidy, well organised and fit for use, and it also gave me an eye for detail.

In one of my recent posts I worked for the same couple for eight years, starting as a live-in housekeeper and gradually taking a role of personal assistant/secretary with light housekeeping duties. In my role as a housekeeper I was responsible for taking care of the house during the week while my employers worked in London, which included cleaning, laundry, shopping, a bit of gardening as well as taking care of two lovely dogs, one of them a boisterous Border Collie who loved his agility classes and the training we both went to.

In my work as a personal assistant, although I did not work in a typical office environment, I did have opportunities to use secretarial skills as well as my book-keeping training and filing skills, on a regular basis. The nature of the post required from me a good use of organisational skills, especially when it came to prioritise my workload. By way of illustration, I carried out following tasks for my employer, who was an international arbitrator and business coach:
1. Answering the phone and taking messages.
2. Book-keeping, using SAGE, and liaising with my employer's accountant.
3. Quarterly VAT returns.
4. Preparing and issuing monthly invoices to clients, together with covering letters.
5. Filing (paper and electronic).
6. Printing, copying and organising documents.
7. Receiving deliveries.
8. Liaising with tradesmen and other visitors.
9. Creating and maintaining a spreadsheet record of clients and other contacts.
10. Making reservations for train travel and hotels.
11. Handling cash transactions.

I hold double MA degree (History, and British Second World War) as well as BA in Humanities with Literature. Which shows how much I love reading!

In 2013 I obtained the Essential Book-keeping Award certificate from Pitman Training, which includes Excel certificate.
In 2016, as part of my training in Care, I have successfully completed a certified Basic First Aid Course which included: Assessment and Initial Treatment of an unconscious patient, A non-breathing casualty, CPR - all ages including tracheostomy CPR, Bleeding and Medical Shock.
In 2017 I obtained Level 2 certificate in Customer Care, a course which gave me not only knowledge but also practical skills.

I love books and old movies. As a daughter of a librarian who had more than 20 years of experience before retiring, I grew up not only surrounded by books but also helping my mother and learning from her how to organise and catalogue books as well as how to interact with the public.
For me there is nothing more relaxing than long walks in the countryside, finding little places ‘off the beaten path’, learning the stories of people and places. I love all things vintage, and one of my favourite words is ‘traditional’.




Ad ID: 1298501512

Sponsored Links