Sorry this ad is no longer available.

V3003 | Live-in PA / Nanny | Borough Green TN15

Borough Green
Previous image Next image
Image 1 of 1
Contract type
Permanent
Posted
449 days ago

Description

We are seeking a very special supporting PA / nanny for this family consisting of mum, dad and baby (born February 2012.) The role will be Monday tea time through to Friday afternoon, to be on call for the baby potentially for two nights. The ability to be flexible and provide cover for the PA that covers weekends, on occasions, is required.

Dad has an acquired brain injury following a road traffic accident in 2009 and will need support to enable him to enjoy his baby, continue his rehabilitation and allow him to lead an enjoyable and worthwhile life. Before his accident, dad was literally a 'high flyer'; teaching people to fly. He and his wife enjoyed an active, busy life, which included frequent trips abroad. Following his accident, his life (and of course his wife’s) has had to change considerably. Because of his brain injury he suffers from chronic fatigue; sleeping on average 16 hours a day. He also has difficulty with his memory, vision, motor skills (mostly fine) and information processing. He still retains his same outgoing personality and intelligence and is a charming man, who is positive, funny and immensely likeable; he does however require support to manage his expectations and low mood, at times. He still enjoys powered paragliding, but this takes a great deal of planning & preparation, which is in itself exhausting. Once he is up in the air though, there are no distractions and he is so experienced, the procedures are automatic. He also enjoys visiting friends and relatives, and walking their large dog.

The PA's role will be to assist dad with prioritising his day and to carry out tasks which are exhausting, so dad is in a position to fully enjoy the activity. When dad is too tired, the nanny/P/A will have sole charge of the baby (when the day nanny is not there or he is not at nursery). In addition, the PA will also be expected to observe and record progress, and work closely with other professionals in the rehabilitation team. This will be an incredibly interesting & rewarding role for someone who will enable dad to live his life as independently as possible and enjoy being a father. The PA must be happy to be flexible so that activities can be relatively spontaneous, must understand the importance of keeping a professional distance and be sensitive to the needs of the whole family. We need someone who has baby experience; ideally you will also have a background in psychology, mental health nursing or similar profession - or even better, experience with people with brain injury. You will be very much part of a team; working with other professionals to assist with rehabilitation goals. There are excellent training and development opportunities. Lots more information available from Sally, who has met the family and placed previous candidates.

Nearest BR Station: Borough Green

Driver Required? Essential – must be confident driver

Use of Car? On Duty

Specific Experience Required: Baby Experience essential plus ideally brain injury experience and/or psychology background, nursing or similar. Experience with adults with mental health needs would be extremely advantageous.

Children / Clients: Baby boy 17m / father

Additional Needs: Acquired brain injury

Start Date: Beginning of September. Interviews will ideally be held on 14th, 15th or 16th August

Temp to: N/A

Days & Hours: Monday arriving tea time at approximately 5 pm. Baby monitor taken Monday and Wednesday night. Tues/Wed/Thurs all day working (start and finish times are variable depending upon the needs of the client and family), Friday start and finish times are variable depending upon the client’s timetable for the day and if attendance at team meetings is required. There can be some flexibility with days worked, please ask if the above hours / days are not ideal.

Gross Wage: £24,960 - £37,440 - for 40 hours, according to experience (overtime paid between £12.00 - £18.00 per hour respectively)

Approx. Net Wage: £375.00 to £544.00 net per week

Personality of Nanny/Carer: Calm, observant, flexible, mature in attitude, able to give guidance when necessary, but be guided by the client too! Good sense of humour, positive and thoughtful

Interests ideally walking, outdoor activities, dogs

Accommodation: Own bedroom/bathroom – lovely accommodation, quite separate.

Any Pets? Large white German Shepherd (very friendly – very fluffy!)

Consultant: Sally Britton

Ad ID: 1026848603