P.A (Carer) needed
Sheffield

Sorry, this ad is no longer available.

Hi,
I am a recent graduate of Sheffield Hallam University and am currently recruiting to my team of Personal Assistants, who work with me to help me stay as independent as possible. I am a C6 tetraplegic which means I am paralysed from the chest down and have limited hand and arm movement after a spinal cord injury. There are an average of 33 hours available each week which could be taken ideally by one person but could be split between two people but no matter how many hours you are interested in doing I would still like to hear from you.

The main shifts are 2 days per week from 8.00 until 16.00. This involves first helping me to get out of bed, showered and dressed. The PA then stays on with me during the day helping me with everyday tasks such as filing, preparing food, shopping, helping me exercise etc.

The other hours are on alternate weekends where you will work 1 weekend on and 1 weekend off from 8.00 till 14.00 each day. This is similar to a week day shift but you finish just after lunch.

The final hours are for two evenings per week for 4 hours each time and this involves accompanying me to social events and helping me get from place to place.

You must hold a driving licence, flexibility is important and experience in this field is not essential for this job. It is more important that we work together well and I conduct all the training myself.

I try to stay as independent as I can and I need a P.A who can help me do this. I hope working with me will be rewarding for the successful applicant as you will be supporting me as I gradually improve my mobility.

The pay is £8.50 per hour. The position begins on Wednesday 14th March 2012. If you are interested please reply to this advert with some information about yourself, why you feel you are suited to working with me and include a CV if available.

Sponsored Links