Live in au pair wanted
Barnes, London

Sorry, this ad is no longer available.

We are a busy and hard-working but cheerful family based in Barnes and we are looking for a responsible, organised, reliable and warm female to help look after our three children, age 11, 10 and 7. We are hoping to find someone who can balance being firm and "in charge", whilst at the same time providing a happy and cheerful environment. We also need someone who is genuinely interested in looking after children and working in a home environment and who has a ‘can do’ attitude, not someone who just needs a place to live in London.

My husband and I have busy and demanding jobs, and therefore you will need to be happy to operate independently, and to be able to apply a proactive and common sense approach. This role is fully "in charge" when we are not around, and therefore is not a "extra pair of hands" position, as are some au pair roles. We value someone who could not only look after the children but also help cook healthy meals, and help with laundry. Our children have busy schedules and go to school by London Underground and therefore you will need to be happy to take them to activities on the Underground and be prepared for daily changes to the kids’ schedules as they inevitably happen. The position will suit someone who has already been an au pair for a while and looking for a more independent role, perhaps as a stepping stone to a full nanny position. Alternatively, a British or native English-speaking applicants who may simply want to experience London for a year may find the job a good fit.

You will need excellent written and spoken English in order to be able to help with homework and to manage the role with minimal supervision. Because of this we will only consider applicants who are age 21 or over and who are already in the UK, as we would like to meet you in person. The right to work here in the UK is also essential. The role is available starting as soon as possible and we are looking for someone who is able to commit at least to a full year with us.

The pay is £150 a week, depending on your experience and profile, plus full board, plus free travel card for the Underground (zones 1-2) for an average of 35 hours a week.

We work to an annualised hours contract, so in many weeks the hours will be less than 35, with the remainder being taken up by school holidays or occasional weekend babysitting.

We live in Barnes which is a lovely area with many families and au pairs/nannies. It is very close to the river Thames and Hammersmith Broadway with excellent tube and bus links. We have a large, comfortable home and you will have your own bedroom, with an en-suite bathroom, plus TV and Wifi connection.

I cannot pretend that this is a position that would suit someone relatively young, living away from home for the first time and therefore needing a family to "look after them". You will be treated and expected to operate as a full independent and professional adult. Our children love au pairs as we have had several of them and they are fun-loving easy to manage children. We are very used to sharing our home however and aim to provide a comfortable and respectful environment. It is important for us that you are happy and content, as this makes for a relaxed and harmonious atmosphere in our home

Duties include (Normally 5 days a week,):

- From 6:450 am - getting kids ready in the morning for school and preparing breakfast
- Organising school bags / equipment for each day (swim/netball kit, library books etc.)
- Taking kids to school
- Picking them up from school anywhere between 4:00 and 5:45, depending on activities
- Supervising and providing assistance with homework and reading
- Providing supper
- Looking after kids after school until we arrive home (I normally around 6 pm but occasionally later)
- Organising and hosting play dates
- Babysitting for up to 2 nights a week and occasionally at weekend (with prior agreement).

- General tidying of main areas of house (living room, kitchen)
- Nanny duties / keeping kids’ room tidy / cleaning childrens clothes / organising childrens cupboards / tidying kitchen after their dinner)
- Light housework
- Helping with laundry (putting in dryer, folding clothes, etc)
- Putting bins out once a week
- Mid weekly quick shop for groceries (bread, milk, fruit etc.)
- Occasional general help with errands (meeting deliveries / picking up dry cleaning etc.)
- Occasional cleaning & hoovering etc.

We have a cleaner who comes for several hours each week, so generally no heavy cleaning required, although some additional help is appreciated when she is away.

We will respond to all applications that meet the main criteria (i.e. age over 21, already in London, valid visa, good English, willing to help with homework, cleaning, etc).

Sponsored Links